(With
my 10th Anniversary coming tomorrow, I decided to revisit one of my most
important Rants, with slight revisions. This is a Rant which I've repeated
before because I don't think it can be said enough times. And I'm sure in the
coming years, I'll repeat it again and again. It's just that damn
crucial.)
It
couldn't be any simpler so listen carefully. This is one of the most important
pieces of advice you will receive this season. Please pay careful attention.
If
you've had too much alcohol to drink, if there is any doubt in your mind, don't
drive.
Any
questions?
Once
again, I step forward with probably my most important Rant of the year. It's an
absolutely vital issue for everyone who enjoys alcohol of any type, from wine to
beer, from Scotch to hard cider. With the advent of the holiday season upon us,
from Mother's Day to Independence Day, we reach a potentially dangerous period
for those people who over indulge, who drink too much at parties, feasts and
gatherings. There is nothing wrong with that, and you can drink as much as you
desire, as long as you give up your keys to someone who is sober, and do not
drive.
As
I've said multiple times before, and which I'll repeat year after year,
"If there is any question, no matter how small, whether you are too
intoxicated to drive, then don't. If your family or friends think you have had
too much to drink, don't drive. Just don't. It is not worth the risk by any
calculation." Err on the side of caution so that if you have any doubt
of your capacity to drive, then please do not drive. Take a taxi or Uber, catch
a ride with someone else, walk or sleep it off. Just don't drive!
Rationally,
we all know the dangers of drinking and driving. We endanger our own lives as
well as the lives of others. Every year, we hear multiple news reports about
terrible auto accidents, some with fatalities, that occur because a driver was
intoxicated. Families are torn apart, lives are ruined, and much more. Why don't
we learn from all these incidents? Even if you don't get in an accident, you
might get arrested for drunk driving, with all the attendant high costs, and not
just economic. You might even end up in jail.
About
17,000 people are arrested for drunk driving in Massachusetts each year. That is
a huge figure, showing that far too many people still don't understand that they
should not drink and drive. How difficult is it to understand? DON'T DRINK &
DRIVE! I'm sure drunk driving incidents in other states are just as
significant.
Each
time you drink and drive, you endanger yourself, your passengers, pedestrians,
cyclists, and people in other vehicles. Let someone else drive you, whether it
be a friend or family. Take an Uber or public transportation. Leave your car
where it is parked as you can always pick it up the next day. You have plenty of
options so there is absolutely no reason to drink and drive. Be responsible.
I
don't want to lose any family or friends this year due to a drunk driving
accident. I don't think anyone wants to lose their loved ones either. Your
family and friends would rather you didn't drink and drive as they don't you to
die in a terrible drunk driving accident. So please just don't!
Không có nhận xét nào:
Đăng nhận xét